Curriculum 2017-03-29T14:11:05+00:00


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The care and education of children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) follow statutory requirements and guidance given by Government.

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)

Peartree Way Pre-School, Nursery & Forest School welcomes all children and parents are encouraged to inform the school of any individual needs as soon as possible. Parents are welcome to visit the school to see the facilities and share their concerns with the Headteacher or Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator (SENCO).

The Early Years Foundation Stage

This is the statutory framework for all children aged between 0 and 5 years. It provides a planning framework for all the children at Peartree Way Nursery School.
The early years curriculum is organised into 7 areas of learning
For each area of learning there is a set of developmental stages and early learning outcomes which describe what each child is expected to be learning at each stage.
The staff plan the curriculum to ensure the children make good progress towards the early learning goals which children are expected to reach by the end of the Reception class in their primary school. At Peartree Way we expect all children to make the best possible progress and we support all children to reach the expected outcomes for nursery by the time they leave us.

The 7 areas of learning:

3 Prime areas of learning
Communication and Language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development

4 Specific areas of learning
Understanding the World
Expressive Art and Design

How young children learn

The children will experience a range of activities indoors and outdoors, whatever the weather to develop skills, knowledge and independence. They learn actively within a strong routine. Children will bring home regular information about what they are learning and there will be weekly notices.

There follows a brief introduction of each area. In all areas there is a strong emphasis on active learning, play and exploration, and creating and thinking critically.
More information about the EYFS can be found on:

You can keep up to date with your child’s learning by looking at the activities planned around the EYFS for each half-term in our Learning Plan folders (under Curriculum).

The Prime Areas of Learning

Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

• Making relationships: Peartree Way provides a happy, safe and secure environment where children feel valued and respected. Children form positive relationships and learn to work and play together cooperatively.

• Self-confidence and self awareness: Peartree Way provides an environment where children grow in independence and are excited about learning. They will learn to speak in a group, to express their ideas and to make choices.

• Managing feelings and behaviour: Children learn about their emotions and the feelings of others. They will use appropriate behaviour, turn take and share.
Physical Development

• Moving and Handling: learning and improving skills of coordination, control, manipulation and movement in large and small movements e.g. climbing, jumping and using pencils and scissors.

• Health and self-care: Children learn about the importance of good health, physical exercise and healthy diet. They enjoy the outdoor environment every day including a wide range of play activities and welly walks. They will learn to manage their own hygiene and personal needs, e.g. hand washing and healthy snacks.

Communication and Language

• Listening and Attention: Children learn to listen to each other and adults individually and in small and large groups. They listen and join in with stories and rhymes every day with enjoyment and relevant responses.

• Understanding: Children develop understanding of language through their play and exploration they respond to questions, they explore, predict, explain, describe… They learn to follow instructions to extend their learning.

• Speaking: Children are given a rich range of real experiences and activities to talk about. They take part in planning and recall activities enabling them to talk about past experiences and plan the future

The Specific Areas of Learning

In the EYFS children’s mathematical understanding develops through active learning, play and
exploration. They will use indoor and outdoor environments, stories, songs, cooking and games.
• Number: Children will learn to count reliably, order numbers, calculate, problem solve and use mathematical language

• Shape, space and measure: Children will learn about weight, capacity, position, distance, time and money. They will explore, recognise, create and describe patterns and shapes.
For both reading and writing children will develop phonic knowledge that will enable them to decode, read and write words. Phonics will take place through a range of learning experiences e.g. listening activities, songs, rhymes and playing with language throughout the EYFS.
• Reading: Children will learn the skills they need to be a reader and to love books, they will borrow books to be read to them at home and enjoy daily stories at school. They will become familiar with print and talk about their reading.

• Writing: All attempts at writing will be encouraged, children will start with their own names and words of interest to them. They will write what is meaningful to them and be able to read it.

Understanding the World
People and Communities, The World, Technology
In a rich active learning environment children are challenged to learn about themselves and others and the world in which they live.
Expressive Arts and Design
Exploring and using media and materials; children will sing, make music and dance. They will have daily opportunities to use a wide range of tools, techniques and materials creatively, and safely.

Being Imaginative; children will be encouraged and supported to express themselves imaginatively through all media.

Translate »